Life’s Decisions

Thinking back some of the important decisions i made in life, my reactions now were “why had I done that”.  Needless to say I had my fair share of mistake and regrets.  Important decisions to me are the ones that are not easily reversible, such choosing a place to settle down, a career path, a life partner or a decision that will have a huge impact on your reputation, I have my fair shares of mistake and regrets.

I came across with an article on Huffingtonpost.com which provides a nice formula to making better decisions. Here’s the link to the article –  http://www.huffingtonpost.com/elizabeth-rider/how-to-make-better-lifech_b_6662064.html

I was instantly intrigued because I am always on the lookout for formula on highly uncertain processes to reduce the uncertainty in those processes.  The decision making process made top of the list.  The formula is called the 10-10-10 rule.  It requires that you evaluate how you feel in 10 minutes, 10 months and 10 years when facing difficult choices.  The key is to focus on how you want to feel in the long run when making decision.  It points out two main factors in making bad decision.  First is our need for instant gratification, secondly our fear of the unknown.  For some of us, the need to go for that cheeseburger is due to the need for instant gratification, we are not thinking that in the long run bad food choices will bring all kinds of health issues.  When in doubt, most of us would choose to do nothing because that would be the safest thing to do.  Who knows whether or not you will be successful or better off if you change career.

I am debating whether or not to stay at my current job at the moment.  I am aching to do something different and yet cannot let go of the comfort of having a stable paycheck. I thought about the author’s suggestions, I will add that trusting yourself is another factor in this formula.  I am not quite there yet…..   My decision now is to sleep on it until the end of the year.

Leave a Reply

